Looking for a meal

Challenge #68 ‘Bugs & Spiders & Such’

I finally got around to taking some pictures for this weeks challenge with my photo club. I took a walk around my back yard looking for some spiders and found one on the side of my house. I decided after I got a couple of shots that I wanted to look for something more interesting. I wandered around the yard and was rewarded with several interesting shots.

The first two shots are of the spider which was actually about half an inch across.

Looking for a meal

Looking for a meal

Still Looking For A Meal

Still Looking For A Meal

The next shot was a fly that decided to light on a leaf of a flower I was focusing on in my flower bed.

Bug-eyed

Bug-eyed

A moth decided to light on a flower that I was getting focused on for a shot. He was very nice to hold still enough for me to get a couple of good shots. I entered the one below to my photo club contest. When I put the pictures up on my computer I noticed a very strange bug hiding in the flower on top of the petals and under the cone portion of the flower..

A Busy Flower

A Busy Flower

I took a couple of close-ups of the strange bug which you can see a little better in the shot below coming out from under the cone portion of the Purple Coneflower.

Coming Out For Supper

Coming Out For Supper

As I was snapping the shot above, a very interesting green wasp decided to light on the same flower and was still long enough for me to get a couple of shots. The one below came out the best and I also entered it in my photo club challenge.

The Showdown

The Showdown

It is interesting how much goes on in the garden that we never see.  There is so much life in action around us if we just stop long enough to take a look at it. I know that a lot of times people say they can’t find anything to photograph. These pictures came from a very slow thirty minute walk around my house which included taking the pictures and setting up my camera.

I hope you enjoy  these shots and the others on this site. Thanks for all the positive feedback I have gotten from so many people.

This entry was published on June 28, 2012 at 10:16 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Nature, Photography, Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

