Down to the Harbor

On the waterfront

During my vacation in Pensacola I discovered that the city had built a new park on the waterfront behind the new baseball stadium that just opened up. I drove down to it one morning and took a few shots of some pelicans and sailboats. I took quite a few shots but they weren’t anything I really liked enough to keep. I have a general rule that I try to adhere to of deleting photos that are not in the top ten percent of what I shot. It helps me learn to be better with my composition and techniques when I am  taking my shots. I also learn a lot of my mistakes when I start looking for reasons to keep or delete shots. Over time I am taking fewer photos on my trips but the quality seems to be getting better. I am learning to stop and think the shot through before I pick up my camera to shoot it. The pelicans were just close enough to shoot with my 70-300mm lens, but it would have been nice to have a 400-600mm lens to get a little more detail.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was published on July 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

