Watching Over the Traffic

The Rest Of The Story

During my recent trip to Pensacola I took a photo walk downtown. I was taking some architectural shots for my entry into the monthly photo contest with my photo club. It was an interesting walk because I discovered that a lot of the vagrants in town hang out at the park while they wait for the next meal to be served at the Waterfront Mission facility. I parked next to the park when I started my walk at about 10:30 AM and the park was empty. I ended up back at the park about 11:30 and a bunch of the vagrants had shown up to wait for their lunch. I decided that the park might not be a safe place to be wandering around so I moved to another park a few blocks away near the historic district. The shots below were taken in several different locations within a five block radius of the main downtown park on Palafox Street.

I was initially looking for windows to take pictures of so I started out at the Seville Towers building.

Old Glory Reflected

Old Glory Reflected

Seville Towers

Seville Towers

Watching Over the Traffic

Watching Over the Traffic

I then went across the street and took some shots of the Old Escambia County Courthouse.

Old Courthouse

Old Courthouse

Proudly Waving

Proudly Waving

While I was there I took this shot  of an old clock from the 1800s in front of courthouse.

Old Courthouse Clock

Old Courthouse Clock

As I was walking down the street I noticed a bar across the street. I thought it was amusing that the bar selling liquid spirits was next to the Christian Science Reading room where people were taking in a different kind of spirit.

Choose Your Spirits

Choose Your Spirits

Next I went to the T.T.Wentworth Museum and took a few shots.

T.T. Wentworth Museum

T.T. Wentworth Museum

Museum Detail

Museum Detail

After I left the first park and moved my car, I went down to Seville Square and the area where some historic buildings and Old Christ Church are located.

Old Christ Church at Seville Square

Old Christ Church at Seville Square

Old Christ Church - Detail

Old Christ Church – Detail

While walking around I spotted these flowers near Seville Square.

Flowers in the Historic District

Flowers in the Historic District

It was getting really hot so I went inside the Transportation Museum across the street from the church. I got some water and cooled off while I took pictures of the old saddle shop storefront.  I used that shot in my monthly photo club competition on Windows. (click here for that shot)

I hope you enjoyed my little trek in downtown Pensacola.

 

This entry was published on July 12, 2012 at 7:29 pm. It’s filed under Architectural, Landscape, Macro, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “The Rest Of The Story

  1. Pingback: Monthly Challenge – Low Perspective | Edward Myers Photography

Leave a Reply

