Spots

The Wind Is Not My Friend

I have been busy this week taking macro shots in between work and the rainstorms. I still haven’t come up with the shot that is what I am looking for. I decided to post some of the shots that I have taken this week in my back yard and down by the lake. I have really been finding the limitations of natural light when taking macros. I was able to get a few shots but there have been a lot of deleted shots because of blurring from the subject being in motion from the wind blowing or their own activity.

The rain has been intermittent all week so I have had to look for in between times when the wind wasn’t blowing and it was light enough to take photos. I stayed close to the house and got the following shots.

I have bushes around my back porch and these ants were very busy consuming one of the buds.

Join The Crowd

Join The Crowd

I caught this salamander sunning on a chair in the backyard.

Nap Time Is Over

Nap Time Is Over

I was headed back into the house when I spotted this dragonfly catching some rays on a piece of timber next to the flower bed.

Warming Up

Warming Up

I decided to go down to the lake a couple of times when the weather permitted and got  a few shots of some bushes that had some interesting shapes in the new growth.

Morning Yawn

Morning Yawn

Reaching Out

Reaching Out

Curly

Curly

I was heading back home from the lake one afternoon when these tiny flowers caught my attention. The flowers are actually about the size of a small pencil eraser.

Tiny Beauties

Tiny Beauties

I caught the next two shots early one morning which is a good time to take butterfly shots since they are waiting for their wings to dry and don’t fly away quickly.

Orange and Green

Orange and Green

Spots

Spots

Hope you enjoyed the photos.

This entry was published on August 5, 2012 at 6:34 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “The Wind Is Not My Friend

  1. Sometimes I use a flash even in daylight so I can go for greater depth of field in a macro view.

    The butterfly in your last picture appears to be a gulf fritillary.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for the suggestion. I am debating the purchase of a flash since I am getting very frustrated with missing so many shots. I just don’t want to spend the money since I am unemployed at the moment.

      • I can certainly understand not wanting an added expense. Although I have a couple of external flashes, I most often use the one that’s built in to my camera. If your camera has a built-in flash, you could experiment with it to see what kinds of results you get.

Leave a Reply

