Passion Flower

Looking For The Magic

I’ve been working on using my on camera flash to get some better macros. I discovered that I was in need of reading my manual and figuring out how to take the flash into account when I set the shot up. I almost never use a flash and now its time to go through the learning process if I have any expectation of improving my skills. So far I have learned that the flash can turn a pink flower very white and featureless if misused. So I am learning the menu and camera settings that will give me a better shot without blowing out the highlights. I have posted some of my latest attempts below.

This little guy is always hanging out on this purple coneflower in my back yard. He was nice enough to stick around while I tried multiple shots to figure out how much flash compensation I needed to use to avoid turning the petals from pink/purple to white.

Petal Spider

Petal Spider

It was cloudy when I took the shot above but the sun came out and I had to move to some flowers in the shade so I could keep working with the flash. This one didn’t need any flash since the sun was giving plenty of light even in the shade.

A Fly Flower

A Fly Flower

I walked down to the lake just before dark and practiced some more with the flash. I found this flower on my way there. I have them show up in my flower bed sometimes but this year I pulled up all the vines they grow on when I was weeding my flower bed. I realized after it was too late that I had yanked them up so I was glad to see some by the lake.

Passion Flower

Passion Flower

I took quite a few shots at the lake but they ended up getting deleted for one reason or another. I was leaning over a guard rail on the dam trying to take a shot of a thistle when I felt something crawling up my leg. I was wearing shorts and when I looked down at my ankle there was a spider about the size of a quarter crawling up my leg. I brushed him off my leg and got my camera set up to get a shot of him. He crawled up on a blade of grass and curled up into a little ball of legs. I tried to get him to spread out so I could get a better picture but he kept wrapping himself up into a ball. I got this shot of him before he finally ran off into the bushes. You can see his eyes on the middle right side of his body peering out from under his legs.

Curled Up For The Night

Curled Up For The Night

The light gave out after I got the shot so I didn’t get any more good shots. I did get to see several deer crossing the road on my way home which was nice.

This entry was published on August 7, 2012 at 11:31 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Nature, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

