Jack-O-Lantern Mushroom Patch

Monthly Challenge – Macro

UPDATE: Both pictures won an Honorable Mention in the Digital category of the contest.

Well tomorrow night is the judging for the August Monthly Challenge for my photo club. The topic this month is macro. I have been busy taking a lot more macros than usual over the past few weeks and finally narrowed my choices down to two shots. We can use any of our work that has been done in the last two years for the competition. I ended up with one from May of last year and another one I took a few months ago.

The first one that I chose is a shot of a Jack-O-Lantern mushroom. I first had this mushroom pop up in my yard about eight years ago. I walked out my basement door and looked under the fig tree near the door and there was a huge patch of orange mushrooms.  If you want the scientific details about these mushrooms you can look on one of these links – Wikipedia or Tom Volks Fungus of the Month .  The first patch of them that came up in my yard was about three feet by four feet and about 18 inches high. I have picture below of the patch that the macro came from. This patch was not quite as big as the one that came up the first year.

Jack-O-Lantern Mushroom Patch

Jack-O-Lantern Mushroom Patch

I took the macro below by lying down on the ground and propping my camera up on a brick.

Undulating Orange

Undulating Orange

The second shot I chose to enter in the contest is from the trip I took to the orchid greenhouse in May. I cleaned it up a bit, removed some spots of dust on the petals, added a Curves adjustment and some area specific sharpening to get it ready for the contest. Here is a smaller version of what I will be entering.

The Space Queen

The Space Queen

This entry was published on August 12, 2012 at 4:25 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Monthly Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge – Macro

  1. looks very artistic 🙂

  2. Pingback: More Jack-O-Lantern shots | Edward Myers Photography

  3. Gabriel | 加百利 on said:

    lovely images!

Leave a Reply

