Diamonds in the Rough

It’s All About The Lines

Life has been hectic lately because I finally got a job two weeks ago. After almost two years of not working at all or only finding temporary jobs, I found a job in a warehouse. My unemployment had just ended and the Lord blessed me with a friend who passed on an unadvertised job opening to my wife.   After I took the job I actually had a second job offer from a retail job I had applied for, but it only offered me 16-20 hours a week. The job I took pays better and gives me more hours per week to work, but it also means my photography time has been cut way back.

I got an opportunity today to go on a photo walk near the building where my photo club meets. They were holding a class on using your cell phone for photography and my wife decided to take it. I went along with her since I have been encouraging her to participate in some of the activities they sponsor. The class included some time for walking around and taking some pictures near the Arts Center building where we meet. The building is an old church in the downtown area of Canton, Georgia. There is a cemetery next to it that was started in 1844 and has some very interesting statues in it. There was also a Farmer’s Market going on in the park downtown so there were a lot of potential photo opportunities within a 2 – 3 block radius of the Arts Center.

The first photos I have posted all have a common theme of “Lines”. The city is re-doing all of their side walks and putting in brick pavers with some interesting patterns.

Basketweave

Basketweave

Basketweave and Rows

Basketweave and Rows

Diamonds in the Rough

Diamonds in the Rough

I also found lines in several other locations.

Concrete Curves

Concrete Curves

This next shot is actually the cover of a spotlight on the side of the new Judicial Building.

All Lined Up

All Lined Up

The old Judicial Building is made of white Georgia marble that was quarried in a nearby town. This shot is full of lines in all directions.

Marble Lines

Marble Lines

The next shot is full of leading lines that take you into and out of the picture. Even the dog has lines in his coat.

Happy As An Old Dog In The Sunshine

Happy As An Old Dog In The Sunshine

As my wife and I walked around town I took a few more shots but just didn’t think they turned out the way I visualized them when I shot them. We decided to head back to the Arts Center because the teacher was preparing a slide show from everyone’s photos. We had a few minutes to spare so we walked around in the cemetery and I got a few more interesting shots.

Tilted Towers

Tilted Towers

Stone Flowers

Stone Flowers

While I was taking a picture of a statue I noticed a butterfly on the headstone next to it. I thought the texture of the cold white marble, the warm orange color of the butterfly and the shadows on the headstone created an interesting composition.

Shadows of Life

Shadows of Life

We were walking back to the building when I spotted this mushroom at the bottom of a tree.

Up From The Earth

Up From The Earth

I hope you enjoyed the shots I took. Everyone’s phone pictures looked great on the slide show. They came up with some very creative and interesting images and the class was very informative.

This entry was published on August 25, 2012 at 10:11 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Photo Trips, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

