Move Over

Monthly Challenge – Backlighting

It’s time for the monthly challenge at my photo club again. While looking for photos to submit to the contest I realized I needed to plan a field trip to look for shots that were backlit. I had a few to choose from for the contest and finally narrowed it down to two shots but I need to work on taking some more.

I told my wife the other day that I was beginning to have withdrawal symptoms from not being able to get out and spend some time with my camera. I guess I will have to work on some night photography since that seems to be the only time I have to get out these days.

The first shot I chose was one that I took in my front yard late one afternoon. I was coming back from a walk at the lake and noticed how the light was coming through the seed pods from a Cleome flower I have in the yard. The pods are only about three inches long. I like the way they almost glow from the light coming through them.

Next Years Promise

Next Years Promise

The other shot I chose was the dragonfly picture I offered a while back as a free screen saver. I resized it to a standard photo size for the contest.

The Sentinel -resized

The Sentinel -resized

I considered another shot that is in my Landscape-Streams and Lakes page called Move Over. I decided not to use it but thought you might like to see it anyway.

Move Over

Move Over

This entry was published on September 9, 2012 at 4:22 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Monthly Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

