Multicolored Universe

Weekly Assignment #78 – Circles

I have been wanting to try some oil and water shots for a while and finally took the time to set everything up to do it. My photo clubs weekly assignment was Circles so I thought that oil drops would definitely work.

I set every thing up and realized that the location of the background material definitely affected the final outcome of the shot. I was using a glass baking pan and it added a lot of texture to the shot. I liked and disliked the texture, depending on the background I was using. I plan to try some more shots later with a clear plastic pan I have so I can see the difference.

The first shot I took was done with a metallic red gift box I found.

Red Moon

Red Moon

This next shot was done by only partially covering the background with the red paper.

On the Edge of Red Space

On the Edge of Red Space

I found some very colorful birthday wrapping paper and managed to get a few good shots using it.

Red Planets

Red Planets

Multicolored Universe

Multicolored Universe

Finally, I found some old gift wrapping paper with colored circles and managed to get some interesting shots using it for a background.

Circles Abound

Circles Abound

Encircling Circles

Encircling Circles

I hope to try this process again using a better set up and more light than I used this time. I really want to see if I can get some shots that are better.

Until next time –

This entry was published on September 16, 2012 at 3:45 pm. It’s filed under Artistic, Macro, Photography, Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Weekly Assignment #78 – Circles

  1. Pingback: Monthly Challenge – Abstract | Edward Myers Photography

Leave a Reply

