Into the Mist

Wandering in the Haze

I hope everyone had a great Christmas holiday. We had rain and fog for two days. I decided on Christmas day to go out and see what kind of fog pictures I could come up with. I had a few hours before my family was coming over so I took a ride a couple of miles from my house where I knew there were some farms. I have been trying lately to scout my neighborhood for some areas where I might get some interesting shots.

The first place I stopped was an abandoned housing development which only had a road built before it was shut down because of the economy. I liked the way the road just wandered off into the distance in a zig zag fashion. I had read a couple of tutorials on taking fog pictures so I tried to put some of my lessons into action. I wish there had been something more in the foreground to add more interest but this is what I came up with.

Into the Mist

Into the Mist

I drove a little further down the road and the rain started getting worse so I just kept driving. I spotted some horses in a pasture and thought they might be good for adding some foreground interest. I managed to get a few pictures before they wandered too far away to be in the shots I was taking. This is what I managed to get.

Rainy Day

Rainy Day

Grazing in the Mist

Grazing in the Mist

I ran out of time and headed home to be with my family for our Christmas dinner.  I had a great time with my daughters and the 10 grandkids.  It was a lot of fun just watching all of them playing with their Christmas gifts and enjoying being together.

Until next time —

This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 11:40 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Wandering in the Haze

  1. Beautiful shots!!! First picture is amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

