Old Courthouse Clock

Newtonian Philosophy for the New Year

I was listening to a sermon on Sunday and the speaker was quoting Sir Isaac Newton. The quote intrigued me and I decided to look it up on the internet. I read quite a few of the quotes by Newton and realized how his thoughts really reverberated with many of my life’s experiences. I was thinking about the year ahead and decided to share those thoughts with you.

The one quoted in the sermon was –

“I do not know what I may appear to the world, but to myself I seem to have been only like a boy playing on the sea-shore, and diverting myself in now and then finding a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than ordinary, whilst the great ocean of truth lay all undiscovered before me.”
― Isaac Newton

Shells Johnson's Beach

Shells Johnson’s Beach

Postcard Sunrise

Postcard Sunrise

I have always enjoyed learning but at the same time felt overwhelmed that there is so much to learn and so little time in our lives to learn it.

I have decided for my upcoming year to try some new things that I haven’t focused on in my photography very much. I read another quote –

“A Vulgar Mechanick can practice what he has been taught or seen done, but if he is in an error he knows not how to find it out and correct it, and if you put him out of his road he is at a stand. Whereas he that is able to reason nimbly and judiciously about figure, force, and motion, is never at rest till he gets over every rub.
(from a letter dated 25 May, 1694)”
― Isaac Newton

This inspired me to try some more creative shots using Photoshop compositing, possibly some portraits, and a few other types of shots that would help me grow in my skill level. I want to learn to shoot from “inspiration” and not “imitation.”

Gin Clock

Gin Clock

This last quote I read reminded me that dreams are great, but if they are to be realized it will require us to take one step at a time toward them in the adventure we call life.

“I keep the subject of my inquiry constantly before me, and wait till the first dawning opens gradually, by little and little, into a full and clear light.”
Isaac Newton

cropped-img_4487-seagull-and-clouds.jpg
Until next time –

Happy New Year!

This entry was published on December 30, 2012 at 5:53 pm. It’s filed under Artistic, Landscape, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Newtonian Philosophy for the New Year

  1. WoW! Honestly…an eye opener…thanks for sharing 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Challenge – Amazing Lights | Edward Myers Photography

Leave a Reply

