Heading For Home

Weekly Assignment #92 Things in the Sky

This week my photo club challenge was “Things in the Sky”. It has been raining and cold for several days here so I was glad when it started clearing off on Sunday. I took a walk down to the lake to see if I could get a shot of the hawk that lives near the lake. He didn’t show up until it was too dark to get a decent shot. I did manage to get a few other shots for the challenge.

The first thing I spotted was a plane very high up leaving vapor trails as it passed into the clouds. I got a few shots of it and here is one of the better ones –

Into the Mist

Into the Mist

I also managed to get a nice shot of some clouds and just as I finished the shot I turned around and got a shot of a kingfisher flying by.  I decided to merge the two shots together in Photoshop since the sky with the bird was very plain and I thought the  nice sky shot would look even better with the bird in it. What do you think? Here is the shot of just the clouds –

Assignment #92 Things in the Sky

Assignment #92 Things in the Sky

and here is the sky with the bird added.

Photoshop magic

Photoshop magic

I was leaving the lake and had just started walking back toward the house when I heard a flock of geese coming toward the lake.  I managed to get a couple of shots of them as they flew by on the way to where they stay at the end of the lake. This is the better of the three shots I was able to get before they disappeared behind the trees.

Heading For Home

Heading For Home

Until next time —

This entry was published on January 7, 2013 at 8:57 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Nature, Weekly Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

