Strawberry Delight

Monthly Challenge – Cooking and Food

Update 2-11-2013: I just returned from my Photo Club meeting where I won First Prize in the Digital Projection category for my “Strawberry Delight” shot below.

 

Time has rolled around again for my Monthly Challenge entry for my Photo Club. I struggled a little on this one because I don’t normally do food photography. I decided to do a still life of some fruit after my wife made a trip to the grocery store and bought some pears and other fruit. I had thought of doing a trio of pears but since she only bought two that idea didn’t pan out. I found an interesting goblet and a decorative wine bottle and started working on different combinations of things until I liked the grouping and look of one of them. I tried all kinds of lighting arrangements and backgrounds and finally settled on the shot below.

Still Life -Fruit and Wine

Still Life -Fruit and Wine

After working on it in Lightroom I decided it just was not what I was looking for. I remembered that my wife had also bought some strawberries and wondered what I could do that would be different from just a plate of food. I thought of some small white cups that were on a shelf and came up with the idea of doing a white on white  high key shot. I set up the cups in a few different arrangements with the strawberries as the focal point until I settled on the one below.

Strawberry Delight

Strawberry Delight

This is the one I will be entering in the challenge. I had a lot of fun working with all the different set up things that had to come together to make the shot close to what I had imagined. I figured out that I needed to start with one light and the cups until I got them the way I wanted them. Then I added the additional lights and strawberries and kept repositioning things until the shot was similar to what I had pictured in my head.

Hope you like it. Until next time –

This entry was published on February 9, 2013 at 5:24 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Monthly Challenge, Photography, Still Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge – Cooking and Food

  1. I love both shots! They both make me hungry…haha

  2. I love both pictures. The first one I love the warmth of an Italian spread. It takes me to a warm summer day. The second picture is wonderful from a clean lines perspective. I like how it draws your eye to travel along the line of strawberries.

  3. Congratulations to winning the fine prize! Execellent shots, both of them.
    Love
    Dina

Leave a Reply

