The Fiddleheads Have Arrived

We have certainly had a weird beginning to Spring this year. Since the first official day of Spring we have had light snow flurries, 29 degree weather, 70 degree weather, and some severe storms as the temperatures went from 70 degrees F to 29 degrees in just a few hours. I know Spring is on its way but it seems a little confused about when it wants to get here.

I haven’t posted in a while because I have been using my spare time to help my grandson build an electric guitar for his Senior project at school. It brought back memories of my high school days when most things were done on the spur of the moment without a lot of planning involved. He did do some research and had a general idea of what he wanted and how much it would cost but he didn’t quite have his work effort estimates planned in detail. We had to improvise in quite a few places when what looked easy turned into a lot more time than he planned. I can report that he did finish it and it sounded good when he hooked it up to the sound system at his church. It was fun helping him learn how to take his plans to completion.

I did do some photography along the way. In keeping my resolution to do more people pictures this year, I took pictures of my grandson for his Senior Prom and a picture as his Senior portrait. The one he had done at his school was pretty bad so his mom wanted me to give it a shot. I think it turned out ok and she liked it, which is what counts.

We had our family get together for Easter on Saturday since it was supposed to rain all day on Easter Sunday. I took lots of family photos of my 10 grandkids during their egg hunt and the aftermath as they picked the two pieces of candy they were allowed to eat before dinner.

My younger daughter brought her camera to take pictures of her kids and while they were playing we took some pictures of the young ferns emerging from the ground. I learned from her that they were called “fiddleheads”. If you are interested in more information about them –click here. I have posted a couple of the shots I took below.

Fiddlehead 1

Fiddlehead 1

Fiddlehead 2

Fiddlehead 2

I will probably try to get a few more shots some time soon if it ever quits raining long enough to get into the woods. Meanwhile here are a few more shots that I have of ferns under the links at the top of the page. This one is under the Macro heading.

Seahorse

Seahorse

The next two are in the Woods section under the Landscapes heading.

Friends

Friends

 

Stretching Out

Stretching Out

The new life of Spring is always a reminder to me of the new life we can have in Christ and the reason we celebrate his Resurrection at Easter.

Until next time –

This entry was published on March 31, 2013 at 9:27 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

