Dinner Line

Monthly Challenge – Low Perspective

This month my photo club challenge was “Low Perspective”. Our judging rules recently changed and we are only allowed one photo per category. Since I usually only enter the digital category, I had a difficult time trying to decide on an image. I had some architectural shots I took on a trip to Pensacola, Florida that I thought might work, some pictures I took at the beach, and some pictures that I took at the Southern Railway Museum. As I went through the shots I just did not find the one I really liked. I finally remembered a shot I had taken on a trip to pick apples that was one of my preliminary choices for a different monthly challenge. I took the original into Lightroom and made a few adjustments for exposure and color to get it ready for the contest. This was my primary choice for this challenge –

Abandoned Fruit

Abandoned Fruit

I went through the beach pictures and picked the one below as my second candidate.

Dinner Line

Dinner Line

I finally chose the apple picture because I felt that it had more impact because of the color. The beach picture had an interesting subject but the colors were not as bright or impactful. I may look at it in the future and see how it looks as a black and white or sepia toned image.

I entered the apple picture into the contest but did not place. The judge had good comments on the subject matter and composition but felt that the picture had too much contrast and suffered from the time of day the shot was taken. He suggested that I could have had someone shade the area with their shadow and it would have decreased the contrast problem. I didn’t feel that the contrast was overwhelming. What do you think?

Until next time –

This entry was published on April 14, 2013 at 3:32 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Macro, Monthly Challenge, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

