Dandelion B&W

No Lamb Yet

This week has been a very frustrating one as I tried to get a new picture for the next topic for my monthly challenge. The May challenge topic is “Religious Icons” so I thought I would take a picture of some lambs that live in a pasture that I pass on my way to work.  I am a Christian so the lambs would fit that topic since Jesus is called the “Lamb of God”, “the Lamb that was slain before the foundation of the world”, and “the sacrifice lamb”.

I got everything ready and left for work early one morning so I could stop at the pasture and try to get a shot. Unfortunately a front was coming through and it was dark and overcast the entire day. I stopped and took a few shots but it was so overcast that I could not get a decent shot within the limitation of my lens and my camera. The sheep were continuously moving and all my shots were blurred or poorly composed (my problem – not the camera). I was going to try another day and it rained. Then I went a third time but when I got to the pasture there were no sheep! My wife came by later on her way to work and said the owner had just let the sheep into the pasture but it would have been too late for me to turn around and go back before work.

I decided to stop by a park that was on my way to work so that he morning wasn’t a total waste. I thought there might be some baby ducks in the pond or something else I could get a shot of.  I had gotten up early another morning to go by the pasture but wasn’t ready to leave on time so I decided to take a few shots in my yard before I left for work. I got this shot of a dogwood that was just opening up –

Dogwood

Dogwood

and this shot of a dandelion next to my sidewalk.

Dandelion B&W

Dandelion B&W

When I got to the park I walked around the lake but didn’t see any baby ducks.  As I was walking along the path I noticed this very interesting leaf on some moss. I have no idea what type of tree it comes from but I liked the contrast between the two colors.

Leaf on Moss

Leaf on Moss

As I continued down the trail I spotted some wild azaleas next to the lake. They were beautiful and in full bloom. I got several shots of both the pink and white ones that were in bloom so the morning was not a total waste.

Wild Azalea 2

Wild Azalea 2

Wild Azalea

Wild Azalea

I did my post processing on these shots with some new software that I just purchased from Nik Software. They were bought out by Google and Google is offering the entire suite for $149. The suite was previously priced at $500 and I just didn’t want to pay that much for it. As a member of NAPP I also had a 15% discount code and ended up getting it for $126. I really like the way it works but I am still in the process of learning how to use it.

Maybe I will eventually get a shot of the sheep or I will just pick another subject. So, until next time –

This entry was published on April 21, 2013 at 1:39 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

