Approaching Storm

Feasting On Bugs At The Lake

Since my last post I bought a new camera – a Canon T4i with a 18-135mm IS STM lens. I got the camera and was only able to take a few shots with it before Sunday. We have had quite a lot of rain lately and when the sun finally came out Sunday afternoon my wife and I took  a walk to the lake. It was still cloudy but looked like it was going to clear up. When we got to the lake it started sprinkling but we decided to keep walking since the rain appeared to be coming from a single small cloud overhead. It was late afternoon and the Martins and some other birds were going wild on the edge of the lake eating all the bugs flying around in the freshly mowed grass at the water’s edge. I decided to see if my new camera did any better with moving objects than my old camera. I started taking shots of the birds swooping by in front of us and was hoping some of the shots would be usable. The birds were just far enough from us that I had to shoot at 135mm and even then they were a small part of the picture. I was able to get the shutter speed down to a thousandth of a second to get the birds in flight and I cropped some of them out of the better shots. With my old camera I had to move the ISO up to 800 in the same kind of light and the pictures would turn out very grainy. The new camera performs a lot better with a lot less noise  and the lens seemed to do ok. Here are a few of the shots I got –

In the Turn

In the Turn

Reflection 1

Reflection 1

Reflection 2

Reflection 2

The wind picked up while I was getting the shots above and the clouds started moving back in. They were really cool looking storm clouds so I took a few shots of them before we had to leave because it was sprinkling again.

Breaking Through

Breaking Through

Approaching Storm

Approaching Storm

We made it almost home before it started raining hard but it was a nice walk anyway. Maybe the rain will clear out soon and I can work on learning my new camera some more.

Until next time –

This entry was published on May 6, 2013 at 9:12 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

