Violet Curves

Violet Curves

I thought I would let you know that I won First Place in my photo club Monthly Challenge for May. The judge had some very nice things to say about the composition, lighting, and technical aspects of the shot. Click here to see the photo.

I have been trying out my new camera and trying to get used to the differences between it and my old one. I still have a lot to learn on how to use it. I decided to take a few flower shots in the back yard before I went to work this morning just to get some practice with the camera. I am also working on trying to figure out all the filters in the NIK software I have now. I have to say it really does a good job adjusting the color and contrast in certain types of shots.

The first shot is some small flowers about the size of a dime.

Thirty Cents Worth

Thirty Cents Worth

The other shot I took is of an iris that is growing next to the house. The morning light hits the spot where it grows for about thirty minutes before the sun gets blocked by a tree.  I was having  trouble getting a sharp shot until I realized the stabilizer on my lens was turned on. Since I was shooting with a tripod I needed to turn it off. Problem solved. I was looking at the iris and noticed how the petals curved as it was opening up. I decided to do a closeup from the side instead of the whole flower. Here is the result.

Violet Curves

Violet Curves

Until next time –

This entry was published on May 14, 2013 at 9:13 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Violet Curves

  1. I love the rich colors and swirls of the pedals in the second shot! keep up the great work.
    -Graham

  2. Stunning photography.

Leave a Reply

