Dam at Roswell Mill #1

A Matter of Alternative Views

This week I want to talk about looking at your subject from different angles. I finally managed to get out and take some shots on Sunday. The weather has been terrible over the last few weeks. We have had over 15 inches more of rain than is normal for this time of year. True to form, I ended up in several rain showers during my hike at Roswell Mill. My son-in-law had taken a shot of some mushrooms on a trip there several weeks ago and I wanted to see if there were any left. The location is the site of the remains of an old mill built in the mid 1800’s. There was a dam built there to provide power for the mill and it is still there today.

When I got there I headed for the dam first because that is where  the mushrooms were supposed to be. It was very cloudy but the sun popped through every once in a while and there was enough light to get some pictures. Here is a shot of the dam.

Dam at Roswell Mill #1

Dam at Roswell Mill #1

The mill is a very popular site for photographers because it has a covered bridge, the dam, and some old structures. I saw some people near the dam and took the next two shots. Notice the difference in the interest of the picture when you add people in to the shot and move in a little closer. I was standing in the same spot for all three shots, yet there are different subject views in each shot.

Dam at Roswell Mill #2

Dam at Roswell Mill #2

Dam at Roswell Mill #3

Dam at Roswell Mill #3

There is a spillway next to the dam where I was standing for the other shots so I took a few shots of it. Notice the difference in the look of the shot by simply changing shutter speed. It is a matter of personal opinion as to which one looks better. Some people like the smooth water and some like the individual drops to show.

Spillway - Fast Shutter

Spillway – Fast Shutter

Spillway - Slow Shutter

Spillway – Slow Shutter

Here is another shot of the same spot but I zoomed out to show more of the water and moved about two feet to one side to avoid some obstructions in my way.

Spillway - Slow Shutter - Alternate View

Spillway – Slow Shutter – Alternate View

I moved on to the place where the mushrooms were supposed to be but they were gone. I looked around for a while and finally spotted this small cluster that had just sprouted. Notice the difference in the two shots by just slightly changing the angle I was shooting from. By the way, this whole cluster is slightly larger than a quarter.

Mushrooms

Mushrooms

Mushrooms - Alternate View

Mushrooms – Alternate View

Here is a different mushroom I spotted as I was looking around for the other ones.

Fat Mushrooms

Fat Mushrooms

I left this spot and walked back to the covered bridge to cross over to the other side of the creek.  As I was going down the trail I noticed this heron on the other side of the creek. Both shots were taken from within a few feet of the same spot.

Heron in the Creek

Heron in the Creek

Heron in the Creek - Alternate View

Heron in the Creek – Alternate View

I crossed over the covered  bridge and went down to the edge of the creek and got these two shots of some rocks. I moved about ten feet from the first shot location to take the close up shot from a slightly different angle.

Rocks in the Creek

Rocks in the Creek

Rocks in the Creek - Alternate View

Rocks in the Creek – Alternate View

I then hiked back up to the dam to get some more shots. This is a cluster of flowers that I spotted next to the creek.

Blossoms By The Creek

Blossoms By The Creek

When I finally got to the dam it started pouring rain. So I gave up and walked back to the covered bridge to cross back over the creek.  I waited on the bridge until it quit raining and walked back up to the dam. I took a few more shots of the dam from further away but they didn’t turn out very good. It was getting late so I took this last shot of some old mill machinery that is still on the old mill site and then headed home.

Gears at Roswell Mill

Gears at Roswell Mill

Until next time —

This entry was published on July 16, 2013 at 7:28 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Macro, Nature, People, Photo Trips, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A Matter of Alternative Views

  1. Beautiful series!!!!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Challenge – Machines/Tools | Edward R. Myers Photography

Leave a Reply

