To Everything There Is A Season

To Everything There Is A Season

Over the past month or so I have been having a real struggle with motivating myself to get out and take some photos. I think we all go through those seasons where we just lose the drive to move forward with something.  I have been trying to figure out what is  slowing me down and during this same timeframe my pastor started a series of sermons on the book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible. I could identify with a lot of what Solomon said in finding a lack of meaning in a variety of things we fill our lives with.

I realized that I was in a place where I have learned enough to take better photos but now I was looking for the “WHY” of the photos. I enjoy capturing nature in all its beautiful moments, but am I really saying anything to someone in those shots? I look at the work of others that inspire me and see that their work isn’t just technically well done but it also invokes something in me.  It may be a feeling, a memory, or it makes me wish I could be there as the image unfolds.

While I was pondering all these things my wife and I went to a juried nature photography show and I was able to see up close the works of others who were able to capture those quiet moments in the woods or the beauty of the curves and colors in a piece of nature. The show helped to show me some areas I needed to work on and encouraged me to work harder at learning to be a better photographer.

The sermon this week was on Ecclesiastes 3 which reminded me of a composite I did during a course I took on web design. Our assignment was take a minimum of five photos and build a composite image that made a statement of some kind. I chose my photos to represent a portion of Ecclesiastes 3 from the New International Version of the Bible –

1 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven:

2 a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot,

3 a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build,

4 a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance,

5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain,

6 a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away,

7 a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak,

8 a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.

Here is the composite I came up with –

To Everything There Is A Season

To Everything There Is A Season

So I have determined that all of my pondering in the moment is because I am in one of these seasons and I just need to enjoy the journey in the moment. Over time everything will be put in perspective and I will move forward to a better place in the journey of my life.

Until next time –

This entry was published on September 22, 2013 at 1:03 pm. It’s filed under Artistic, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “To Everything There Is A Season

  1. I agree with what you’re saying. I have been in that position before. I just don’t feel like going out in the field and photographing anything. It might be because I’m frustrated with the quality I produce or I feel wronged because no one appreciates what I do (it’s amazing how big our egos get and how small they become when people don’t like what I created). I never thought of my creative process as being seasons, but you’re right, it is. Great blog.

    • I once asked a friend of mine how she was doing and she responded, “I have been plowing some of that rich soil in the valley”. I think that is a great attitude to keep when you are in a hard season waiting to start back up to the next mountain top season. Thanks for the feedback.

  2. I can identify. Then, when I do get the bug I go out and shoot, come home, load the photos onto the computer and…well…I have a real hard time getting around to editing and posting them. Now that I have a blog, I’m a bit more focused, but that’s the great need of my life, to be a bit more focused.

Leave a Reply

