Blue Studebaker

Monthly Challenge – Transportation

I almost didn’t enter this month’s challenge since I didn’t have any shots that were recent enough to enter. I remembered that there was a nearby car lot that sells antique cars so I decided to check it out. I waited until the afternoon so that I would have better light to work with.

When I got to the car lot I realized that the trees on one side of the lot were blocking the sun and over half of the lot was in the shade. I was thinking about leaving since the light was so dim but I realized that the shade was actually not a problem. It was stopping the intense reflected light  and glare that the sun would normally cause on a reflective surface. I managed to get about 45 minutes of shooting before the light was too low for the shot I was trying to get.

Here are a few of the shots I managed to get.

A Little Rusty

A Little Rusty

Curves

Curves

Smile

Smile

There was a great looking Blue Studebaker on the lot that reminded me of the 1949 model that my parents had when I was very young. Their model didn’t have as much chrome as this one did. I took one close up shot that I used for a weekly challenge that was focused on “Leading Lines”.

Triple V

Triple V

I then took several full shots of the car from different angles. I decided I would head home and come back early the next morning. I came back the next morning and took a few more shots but the ones I had taken the day before looked better to me. Here is the one I decided on for the challenge.

Blue Studebaker

Blue Studebaker

Hope you enjoyed the shots. Until next time —

This entry was published on October 13, 2013 at 2:40 pm. It’s filed under Macro, Monthly Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge – Transportation

  1. Great shots, but then I’m a sucker for car shots. Any idea what the first three are?

    • The two magenta shots are from different cars. I don’t know what they were. They were nice cars but not as nice as the Studebaker. I will have to see if I can find out what they are. The blue headlight shot is from the Land Cruiser.

  2. That is one SMOKIN’ ride!

  3. Pingback: Monthly Challenge – Signs | Edward R. Myers Photography

Leave a Reply

