Catching A Wave

Chasing Birds In The Sunshine

It finally quit raining the very last day of my vacation. I managed to spend most of the day at the beach. I took quit a few pictures and ended up with most of them being some type of bird at the beach. I started out walking down one section of beach and realized there was not a lot of things I wanted to take pictures of. Here are a couple of the first shots I took.

Shell Collection

Shell Collection

Footprints

Footprints

The place I was at had a roadway that went down a peninsula with the Gulf on one side and a bay on the other side. I crossed over to the bay side and found quite a few more things that I thought would make nice shots. Here are a few of them.

Dinner Time

Dinner Time

Just Hanging Around

Just Hanging Around

As I was walking along the edge of the bay I ran into a large gathering of some kind of ducks or loons in a feeding frenzy.

Out Of My Way

Out Of My Way

I walked back to my car and drove back to the pavilion area of the park and took a few more shots on the beach.

Digging In

Digging In

I Need A Haircut

I Need A Haircut

A Leg To Stand On

A Leg To Stand On

Then I decided to drive down the beach to a place called Alabama Point and got quite a few more pictures.

One Drink Too Many

One Drink Too Many

Catching A Few Rays

Catching A Few Rays

I Just Don't Seem To Fit In

I Just Don’t Seem To Fit In

There is a rock jetty at the beach where a bay empties into the Gulf and I took a bunch of shots of waves crashing on the rocks but none of them proved to be very interesting. Then I found a whole flock of birds attacking a bunch of minnows right next to the rocks. I took a lot of shots of them but they stayed too far out from the shore for me to get the shots I wanted. Here are a few that turned out ok.

Catching A Wave

Catching A Wave

Cruising Along

Cruising Along

Above The Flow

Above The Flow

Where Are Those Fish?

Where Are Those Fish?

When I finished taking shots of the feeding frenzy I started heading back to the car and got an interesting shot of a pelican.

Ripples In The Sky

Ripples In The Sky

When I got to the parking lot I noticed several Herons standing in a bunch of tall grass. I took shots of them from a couple of different angles and liked this one the most.

Standing Tall

Standing Tall

All in all it turned out to be a nice day. Until next time —

This entry was published on January 7, 2014 at 9:24 am. It’s filed under Landscape, Macro, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Chasing Birds In The Sunshine

  1. Pingback: Monthly Challenge – Bridges | Edward R. Myers Photography

Leave a Reply

