Under The Eye Of The Moon

Under The Eye Of The Moon

During the last few days we have had some really bad weather in the Atlanta area. My neighborhood was snowed/iced in for a couple of days. When the weather finally started to break I decided to go on a hike on some of the nearby roads. It was still too icy to drive but walking on the snow was fine. I was a few blocks from my house when I ran across a driveway with an interesting gargoyle statue on the gate post. After taking a couple of shots I started walking again and was thinking that it might be interesting to do a composite with the gargoyle and some dead trees to create a scene with a dark/moody feel. This is the shot I started with.

The Gatekeeper

The Gatekeeper

On Saturday evening I was at the grocery store and noticed that there was a full moon rising. By the time I got home the gorgeous orange moon near the horizon had moved higher in the sky and turned to white. I decided maybe a moon in the background of my composite might be interesting so I went to get my camera. By the time I got my camera and went outside the moon had been completely enveloped by clouds so I went back in and ate supper.

After  supper I went and checked outside and noticed that the clouds were breaking up so I decided to try again. It was very frustrating since I was shooting in manual and trying to figure out the right timing on the shot. I would get everything set and the clouds would move back in and completely cover the moon.  Here is one of my first shots that worked. I wanted to get some trees in the shot along with the moon so it took me a few tries to get the focus and timing right.

Night Glow

Night Glow

The clouds disappeared almost completely for a few minutes and I got this shot.

Hazy Moon

Hazy Moon

I decided to try a few shots with the moon in the trees and that proved to be interesting.  The moon only needed a fourth of a second or less but the trees needed a lot longer span of time. Here is one of my first attempts. I thought the way the moonlight backlit the limbs was interesting.

Moon Dancers

Moon Dancers

As I moved around trying to find a good view through the tree limbs I noticed this one triangular area of branches that might be good to use as a frame around the moon. I took a bunch of shots trying to get the moon in the right position between the branches. I kept having to readjust and move where I was standing because the moon kept moving up after each shot. I finally got this shot which I plan on possibly using in the composite shot I am going to do at some point.

Under The Eye Of The Moon

Under The Eye Of The Moon

I plan on getting a few more shots of various things for my composite once I decide what I think the final composition will look like.  So until next time —

This entry was published on February 16, 2014 at 9:26 pm. It’s filed under Artistic, Landscape, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

