Looking For Lunch

Pelicans And Blue Angels

This past week I went to Pensacola, Florida to pick up my wife from her Mom’s house.  I had the whole week off from work and took full advantage of it. We went to the beach nearly every day and I managed to squeeze in a couple of photo outings as well. On one of my outings I went to Perdido Pass early one morning and took some shots of a bunch of pelicans hanging out on a rock jetty on one side of the pass.

Hanging Out

Hanging Out

Looking For Lunch

Looking For Lunch

Coming Back In

Coming Back In

Landing

Landing

Rise Up

Rise Up

Pelican Panic

Pelican Panic

After taking lots of shots of the pelicans I took a few of the water crashing on the rocks but didn’t really like the way they turned out. It was still early in the morning but it was getting hot already. The heat index that day was 103 degrees. I decided to head back home and when I turned around to go to the car I saw the sun streaming through some clouds. I thought it might make a nice black and white shot. What do you think?

Morning Shining Through

Morning Shining Through

When I got home I went in to cool off and as I was sitting in the kitchen I heard a jet fly by. My mother in law lives near the base where the Navy Blue Angels are stationed and they practice over her house when they are in town. I had planned on going to the airfield on the base the next day to get some shots of them during their practice runs. I    decided to go outside and get a few trial shots which turned out to be very difficult. Since their show is at the base, they only come near the house when they are making a turn or setting up for the next fly by.  I could hear them in the distance and by the time I figured out where they were, they would zoom by the house in about two seconds and disappear behind the trees. Here are the few shots I managed to get of them.

Catching Up With The Guys

Catching Up With The Guys

Lining Up

Lining Up

Topsy Turvy

Topsy Turvy

Almost Missed Them

Almost Missed Them

It was a good thing I decided to take a few shots because I discovered later that I was shooting the only practice run they were having during the week I was in town.

Until next time —

 

This entry was published on July 8, 2014 at 8:51 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Pelicans And Blue Angels

  1. I can’t express enough how I love and appreciate these photos that you captured. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

