Shootout Time

My photo club participated in a multi club yearly shootout this past weekend. There were about 180 people from several clubs taking pictures in five categories. Our club had about 40 people participating so we had five teams with each team taking a single category. My team was given the Color category with Green as the subject.

You can see all the winning shots at the North Georgia Camera Club Council web site. We were given about three hours to go out and get our images and then about an hour to process them and get them turned in to the judges. I took about ten shots and narrowed them down to two shots to submit to my team. We had nine members so each of us got to pick our best shot to enter into the judging. One of our team members won first place in our category with a picture of a green spring on a motorcycle.

Here are a few of the shots I took for my entries. The first place we stopped was at a golf course where a bunch of geese had decided to hang out at the putting green. As we were walking around I noticed a bunch of weeds off to the side of the green that were full of curly seed pods. I decided this shot was a little too busy in the background.

Curls In Green

Curls In Green

Next we went to a Farmers Market in a nearby town. I noticed this vase with a green hydrangea in it and took a shot of it. I decided it just did not have enough impact to be a shot for judging.

Hydrangea

Hydrangea

In the same area there were some abandoned buildings and some old factories. I took a few shots there and liked this one . I decided not to use it because the bird nest is the focus and not something green.

Bird Nest in the Window

Bird Nest in the Window

The image I chose to enter was one I took at the Farmers Market. I was walking by one of the produce stands and noticed this basket of Okra that had one curly piece in the middle of all of these straight pieces. Unfortunately it wasn’t a prize winner in the judges eyes.

Standing Out In The Crowd

Standing Out In The Crowd

In the final judging our club got the most total points which put us in first place. All in all it was a fun day and it was nice to finally get another chance to go out and take some photos.

Until next time —

 

This entry was published on September 16, 2014 at 11:54 pm. It’s filed under Events, Macro, Nature, Photo Trips, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

