Red Loons

Monthly Challenge – Movement/Motion

Time for the Monthly Challenge has rolled around again. The topic for this month was Motion/Movement. I was hoping to get some shots of several horses down the street from my house but the opportunity never materialized for me. I went through my photos and decided on the ones below. The first image I looked at was from a trip I took to Florida at the beginning of the year. I liked the shot but decided it was just not what I was looking for to put in the competition.

Red Loons

Red Loons

I thought the one below from a soccer game I attended was a good candidate for the topic so I entered it into the Printed Color category..

Battle Of The Sexes

Battle Of The Sexes

The next one was my choice for the Printed Monochrome category. I used a filter from Nik Silver Effex Pro 2 to add texture and get the seagulls to stand out a little better.

Above The Turmoil

Above The Turmoil

For the Projected Digital image I entered the shot below. I really liked the way the clouds mimicked the pelicans wings and the overall feel of the shot.

Ripples In The Sky

Ripples In The Sky

I got a lot of positive comments from the judge at our meeting but none of the images made it into the winners circle. We had a lot of excellent shots entered into the competition and it was interesting to see how many different ways that the topic was depicted.

Until next time —

This entry was published on October 14, 2014 at 10:06 pm. It’s filed under Landscape, Monthly Challenge, Nature, People, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

