Stages of Bloom

A Trip to the Gainesville Botanical Garden

I finally got around to posting again. I have been busy with family and with a project I have been working on.  I was asked to do some product photos for a new website that will be selling table linens. I ended up shooting over 100 product photos with a high-resolution version for print and a web sized version for the new site. It was a great learning experience as well as a challenging one for me. I learned about keeping multiple shots of different colored objects consistently posed and lit. I also learned about shooting white on white and what you have to do to not end up with a gray napkin on a gray plate instead of a white napkin on a white plate on a white background. I finally finished all of the shots this past week.  The high-resolution shots will be used in a printed catalog that is at the printers now. I am looking forward to see how the shots will look when the catalog is done.

My wife and I have been trying to visit the new adjunct garden of the Atlanta Botanical Garden since it opened at the end of April. Between the rainy weekends and family commitments we have not been able to get there until this past weekend. It is in Gainesville, Georgia which is about an hours drive from my house. They have a lot of property t only a small portion has been completed.  It took us about 45 minutes to leisurely walk through the current garden area but there are more plantings scheduled for the future.

The plantings were in an in between stage with the spring flowers just about finished and the summer flowers with nice foliage but very few with flowers.  We will try again later in the summer when there are more blooms.  I took a few shots in our short walk and they are listed below.

When you first enter the plantings area there is a small set of trains set up near an area where children can play.

Passing Trains

Passing Trains

After the trains there is a winding walkway through different planted area with a small stream flowing down the middle. I spotted a couple of butterflies on an Astilbe plant in full flower and managed to get a shot of one of them

Flipping Out

Flipping Out

We passed by the flowers in the next shot and I thought the various stages of the flower buds made am interesting composition.

Stages of Bloom

Stages of Bloom

As we neared the end of the walkway I noticed some wild azaleas in bloom.

Curls

Curls

I processed the shot with a Dynamic Contrast  preset in OnOne’s Perfect Photo Suite 8. It really brought out the texture in the petals.

When I first set up my camera to shoot the azaleas I managed to snap a shot of a honeybee that was zooming in to the flowers and ran straight into a spider web. It did not deter it at all. In just a few seconds it was loose from the web and headed straight for the blossoms.

Eyes On The Prize

Eyes On The Prize

My last shot was a close crop on several blossoms that had a lot of curves and curls that were interesting. There was a blossom behind one of the flowers that looked like a little flame coming out of the top.

Flaming Star

Flaming Star

We left the garden area and took a short walk on one of the wooded trails they have and then headed out to visit some old friends who lived nearby.

Until next time —

This entry was published on June 2, 2015 at 9:16 am. It’s filed under Landscape, Macro, Nature, Photo Trips, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

