Bridge in The Trees

Monthly Challenge – Bridges

Surprise! I finally made it back here to post something. It has been a while and I decided to try to get back into the habit of posting on a regular basis.

My photo club challenge for this month is Bridges. They are not one of the regular subject I photograph so my choices were limited. I decided to put a crop of a bridge shot that I took at Tallulah Gorge into the digital projection category. Here is the shot I came up with –

Bridge in The Trees

Bridge in The Trees

I wanted to try to get a shot for the printed Monochrome category and hoped to get something usable on my end of the year vacation. My wife and I went to Pensacola over the holidays and I was hoping for a sun filled week at the beach to take some photo walks. When we left home it was cloudy and raining. During our stay we managed to get to the beach with some sunshine one day of our stay. The rest of the week we had rain, tornadoes north of where we were staying, high winds, heavy cloud covers, and fog. The rain finally quit for a while on the next to the last day of our stay but the heavy cloud cover remained. I drove to Alabama Point where there is a high bridge crossing over a channel. I had originally planned a sunrise shot but there was no sun to be seen. I tried several locations and angles on one side of the bridge but didn’t get what I was looking for. I drove over the bridge to the other side and followed the same process while hoping that the sun might break through the clouds at some point. It did just that for about a minute and a half when the clouds parted very quickly and then closed back just as fast. I finally gave up and took a walk out to the point and then went home. I chose the shot below for the challenge out of all the shots I managed to get.

Alabama Point Bridge From The Florida Side

Alabama Point Bridge From The Florida Side

I wanted to try out a new place to get prints so I processed the shot and had it printed as a 12 x 16 black and white. It turned out pretty nice. What do you think?

I didn’t win anything at the club meeting but the judge had some good comments about the shots and gave me a few ideas about things I need to pay attention to in the future.

Until next time —

This entry was published on January 15, 2016 at 8:34 am. It’s filed under Architectural, Landscape, Monthly Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge – Bridges

  1. Welcome back! I like these shots.

Leave a Reply

