Marietta, Georgia Railroad Bridge

Learning More About Black and White

As we move into 2016 I have decided to focus more on producing Black and White images. It just so happened that my photo club had a forum this past week giving an overview of B&W photography. Part of the forum was an opportunity to have a critique session with the group on some of your images. I brought several images and had a critique done on one of them.

The first shot I brought was one that I had taken in Marietta, GA when my club went to a competition with several other clubs. I had forgotten about taking it until I was looking for a bridge image for the January Challenge that focused on Bridges. It was kind of bland as a color image so I decided to convert it to B&W. Here is the result –

Marietta, Georgia Railroad Bridge

Marietta, Georgia Railroad Bridge

The second image was one I had taken of a Calla Lilly on another photo club trip to Smith-Gilbert Gardens. The original shot was in color and the lily was very small in the picture. It was only 2 inches by 3 inches at full resolution. I used ON1 software and Perfect Resize to bring the image up to an 8×10 image at 300DPI. I received a lot of positive comments on the image during the critique session so I decided to work on it some more and print it on metallic paper. I changed the crop to an 8×12 layout and reprocessed the image with some different presets in my ON1 software.  This is the image I am going to print.

Angles, Lines, and Curves

Angles, Lines, and Curves

I hope it turns out nice but just in case I will also have it printed on Luster paper.

Until next time —

This entry was published on February 1, 2016 at 10:48 pm. It’s filed under Artistic, Macro, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Learning More About Black and White

  1. Wow, absolutely stunning

Leave a Reply

