Curves and Rectangles

Monthly Challenge – Windows and Doors

I happened to be in Pensacola, Florida a few weeks ago and took time to do some architectural photos.  The monthly challenge topic of windows and doors was coming up and I decided to go downtown and take some shots of some of the buildings.  I started working on the images and decided to do almost all of them as black and white. Here are a few of the shots I decided to keep.

This first shot shows  the windows in an apartment above one of the downtown stores.  I liked the shadows of the flags on the side of the building.

Shadow Flags

Shadow Flags

The next shot is a museum in one of the old historic buildings.  I decided against entering this one because I felt it was a little too busy.  It might be interesting to do a triptych using each floor as a standalone shot. That would simplify the scene but still show the whole front.

T.T. Wentworth Museum

T.T. Wentworth Museum

The shot below was one of the corner sections of the same museum.

T.T. Wentworth Museum -View 2

T.T. Wentworth Museum -View 2

I took quite a few shots of an old bank building with an interesting facade.

Downtown Bank - View 2

Downtown Bank – View 2

I think the shot below is a little more dynamic than the straight on view above.

Downtown Bank

Downtown Bank

There are some old historic wooden buildings downtown and I thought the window below offered a lot of texture and lines which work well for black and white shots. I am entering this shot in the digital category.

Window Into The Past

Window Into The Past

The shot below is my favorite and I am going to print it as an 8 x 16 and enter it into the printed monochrome category.

Curves and Rectangles

Curves and Rectangles

Until next time —

This entry was published on March 5, 2017 at 2:26 pm. It’s filed under Architectural, Monthly Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Monthly Challenge – Windows and Doors

  1. Dana on said:

    You take beautiful photographs. Every picture has a story to tell. I would absolutely love to have the beautiful pelican picture. Amazing beauty of all the photos you have taken. Thanks you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

