Monthly Challenge – Historical

This month I decided to try something a little different. Since the challenge was Historical, I remembered some shots I took a while back of an old church in Marietta, Georgia.  As I was looking through the shots the idea came to me to do a triangular crop of an architectural feature and matte it in a triangular opening. I processed the shot as a B&W and put it in a square black matte. Here is the shot surrounded by black so that you can get an idea of what it looked like.

Marietta 1892

Marietta 1892

For the color category I used a shot I had taken just across the street from the church. There was an office that was in an old gas station and it had these interesting light bulbs in the front window. Here is the shot I took.

Fading Light

Fading Light

I thought the bulb represented a bygone era since we are moving into the LED style of bulbs now. I hope the judge agrees with my perspective.

Until next time —

This entry was published on February 7, 2016 at 9:30 am. It’s filed under Architectural, Macro, Monthly Challenge, Photo Trips, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.